she believed she could, so she did

My sister’s birthday was just a couple weeks ago, so I wanted to share the gift I gave her with you. I knew I wanted to paint her something, but I didn’t know what. We were in Hobby Lobby about a month ago browsing the aisles and she came across this canvas with the quote “She believed she could, so she did.” She commented on how much she loved it. I knew I wanted to do something with that quote but was a little stuck on how to make it more personal. I decided I would paint some floral themed things around the edges of the canvas to frame the quote in the center. I don’t know if you remember, but my sis and I painted one wall in her room mint chevron this past summer. I have a blog post all about that here. Since then, she’s started adding some magenta accents. She bought some really cool magenta chevron pillows, so I knew I wanted to have some pink to make those accents pop. I hardly ever get things right on the first try, and this is no exception. I started to work on a 16×24 canvas. I painted the quote first and then got completely stuck. After a few days with no inspiration, I decided I didn’t like what I had come up with and wanted to started over. I went back to the store and bought a fresh canvas, this time an 18×18. After the first mess up I wanted to make sure I had it all planned out before I started painting. I also bought some white paint pens, which worked much better for the lettering than trying to paint the thin lines of the letters with a paintbrush. Anyways, here’s the finished canvas:photo 2

Here's a close up of some of the details. : )

Here’s a close up of some of the details. : )

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. It looks great on her wall and brings out the other pink accents around her room perfectly!

Have a great week,
Caroline : )

Leave a Reply

