a floral fascination

Tonight, I needed a break. Time to myself. I had a fairly stressful couple of days. Long story short, my hard drive crashed. Luckily, I was able to recover almost everything and had it replaced, which is more than most people can say when their hard drives have crashed. Either way, still a pretty stressful situation to be in. I came home from class today with an urge to paint. I just bought some fresh canvases this past weekend and they were really in need of some paint. I wanted to paint something different, more challenging than what I usually paint. I don’t know if you’ve figured it out by now, but I have a huge fascination with floral, so I decided I would try to paint a flower of some kind. I’m not going to go into as much depth as I usually do with my process, and this is because once I got into the grove of painting, I completely forgot about documentation. Anyways, here’s a very condensed version of my process. : )

My canvas is 18" by 18" but I like to plan and sketch before I jump right into the paints, so I cut a square of paper to start.

My canvas is 18″ by 18″ but I like to plan and sketch before I jump right into the paints, so I cut a square of paper to start.

Then I sketched out the flower I wanted with inspiration from a few different photographs.

Then I sketched out the flower I wanted with inspiration from different photographs.

Once I had it all sketched out, I started transferring it onto the canvas.

Once I had it all sketched out, I started transferring it onto the canvas.

Very lightly, I sketched out the final design onto the canvas.

Very lightly, I sketched out the final design onto the canvas.

And then I just sort of went for it. After a few of the petals I got the hang of it and trusted myself.

And then I just sort of went for it. After a few of the petals I got the hang of it and trusted myself to paint.

Here's how it turned out!

Here’s how it turned out!

I have to say, one of my favorite parts of painting is looking at the final mixing palette.  So beautiful how the colors melt together.

I have to say, one of my favorite parts of painting is looking at the final mixing palette. So beautiful how the colors melt together.

IMG_3044

Have a wonderful night,
Caroline : )

p.s. you can follow me on facebook if you’d like!

Leave a Reply

