hand-painted floral wine glasses

I found some wine glasses on sale this past week and decided I’d add some hand-painted flair. I’ve seen floral painted glasses before and wanted to give it a shot!

I found 4 balloon wine glasses on sale for a dollar piece.

I found 4 balloon wine glasses on sale for a dollar piece. They even had these little bubbles infused within the glass.

I thought they'd be the perfect canvas for hand-painted flowers. : )

I thought they’d be the perfect canvas for hand-painted flowers. : )

The first thing you want to do is create the basic shape of the flower petals. Luckily the acrylic paint I was using was easy to wipe off with a wet tissue if I made a mistake.

The first thing you want to do is create the basic shape of the flower petals. Luckily the acrylic paint I was using was easy to wipe off with a wet tissue if I made a mistake.

To make the petals more opaque, I needed to add another coat of paint.

To make the petals more opaque, I needed to add another coat of paint.

Next, I added a lighter color pink to the tips of the petals for some dimension.

Next, I added a lighter color pink to the tips of the petals for some dimension.

Now pick a nice green for the stem.

Now pick a nice green for the stem.

Now paint some leaves!

Next, paint some leaves!

Let the paint dry for a few hours.

Let the paint dry for a few hours.

Acryclic scratches off glass very easily, so you'll want to paint a clear varnish over it to keep it from chipping. I used Delta Ceramcoat Satin Varnish.

Acrylic scratches off glass very easily, so you’ll want to paint a clear varnish over it to keep it from chipping. I used Delta Ceramcoat Satin Varnish.

And now you're finished!

And now you’re finished!

I’m pretty happy with how they turned out! Next time, I might try painting different types of flowers, maybe daisies or lilies. I hope this has inspired you to add some personality to any wine glasses you have lying around.

Caroline : )

p.s. you can follow me on facebook for more updates!

Leave a Reply

