Terra Cotta Jewelry Pot

As I was shopping through Michaels the other day, I stumbled across these mini terra cotta pots and thought they would be the perfect size for a jewelry holder. I usually just lay my everyday jewelry on my dresser at night and have been looking for a small dish to keep them in for a while now so the timing couldn’t have been more perfect for this.

Here are the pots I found in Michaels.

Here are the pots I found at Michaels.

I'm a sucker for anything mini, plus these were only .60 cents a piece!

I’m a sucker for anything mini, plus these were only .60 cents a piece!

After debating whether to paint or cover my pot in fabric, I remembered that just a few days earlier I had to trim about 3 inches off a pair of pjs because they were too long. :P I was so in love with this pattern that I didn't have the heart to throw away the scraps; now I'm so glad I kept them!

After debating whether to paint or cover my pot in fabric, I remembered that just a few days earlier I had to trim about 3 inches off a pair of pjs because they were too long. I was so in love with this pattern that I didn’t have the heart to throw away the scraps.

You only need enough fabric to wrap around the pot once and then have maybe half an inch to an inch excess on either end of the pot.

You only need enough fabric to wrap around the pot once and then have maybe half an inch to an inch excess on either end of the pot.

Take your mod podge ( I used matte) and coat a section of the pot.

Take your mod podge ( I used matte) and coat a section of the pot.

Place your fabric on the mod podge and make sure there aren't any bubbles. Continue this around the entire pot.

Place your fabric on the mod podged part of the pot and make sure there aren’t any bubbles. Continue this around the entire pot.

For the bottom, cut off any excess and fold all of the edges towards the center and put mod podge over the corners to help them stay secure.

For the bottom, cut off any excess and fold all of the edges towards the center and put mod podge over the corners to help them stay secure.

If you planned to use your pot as a mini planter, you could be done now. However, I wanted to use mine as a jewelry holder and wanted the inside to be filled with fabric.

If you planned to use your pot as a mini planter, you could be done now. However, I wanted to use mine as a jewelry holder and wanted the inside to be filled with fabric.

Cut a square out of your fabric and put a slit on each corner and edge.

Cut a square out of your fabric and put a slit on each corner and edge.

Put mod podge inside the pot and then carefully push your fabric square to the bottom. Because we slit each corner and edge, they should neatly lay over one another.

Put mod podge inside the pot and then carefully push your fabric square to the bottom. Because we slit each corner and edge, they should neatly lay over one another.

The last thing you need to do is secure all of the fabric by placing a thin coat of mod podge on the entire pot & let it dry for a few hours.

The last thing you need to do is secure all of the fabric by placing a thin coat of mod podge on the entire pot & let it dry for a few hours.

: )

: )

For a 20 minute craft, I think this turned out wonderfully, and it’s just as functional as it is adorable! I’m thrilled to finally have a place for my jewelry. Hopefully this gave you some ideas for using any scrap fabric you may have lying around, or inspire you to keep your scraps instead of tossing them in the trash—just look what could become of them!

Caroline : )

Leave a Reply

