sweet as a cupcake

I had the urge yesterday to paint a cupcake. I had a leftover canvas from a previous cupcake painting project and figured why not?! I already have three hanging in my room right now, but you can never have too many cupcakes in my opinion…

Since I decided to paint another, I figured I could show everyone my process. : )

Since I decided to paint another, I wanted to show everyone my process. : )

First thing you need is a canvas. I love using the skinny canvas boards versus the regular canvas for these particular projects. I got a package of 5 at Blick for maybe $10.

First thing you need is a canvas. I love using the skinny canvas boards versus the regular canvas for these particular projects. I got a package of 5 at Blick for maybe $10.

Now pick a color for your background. In my previous paintings I used a light pink. I decided I wanted a more 'masculine' cupcake today and went for a light blue.

Now pick a color for your background. In my previous cupcakes I used a light pink but I decided I wanted a more ‘boy-friendly’ cupcake today and went for a light blue.

mix mix mix!

mix mix mix!

And begin painting away!

IMG_2216

And begin painting away!

I like to prep before I go straight in with the paints. So I sketch out my cupcakes in pencil first.

I like to prep before I go straight in with the paints. So I sketch out my cupcakes in pencil first.

You just want to lightly sketch because you can't erase pencil on freshly painted canvas.

You just want to lightly sketch because you can’t erase pencil on freshly painted canvas.

I chose a darker blue for the bottom...

I chose a darker blue for the bottom…

...and green for the icing.

…and green for the icing.

I like keeping a little consistency in my cupcakes, so I always make my cupcake insides a cream color.

I always make my cupcake insides a cream color for consistency.

After the first layer of paint.

After the first layer of paint.

Then I like to outline to cupcake, but not with black. I use the background color mixed with a little black as I think it helps tie the whole thing together. : )

Then outline the cupcake, but not with black. I think it helps tie the whole painting together if I use the background color mixed with a little black.

Here we are with a thin outline of the entire cupcake.

Here we are with a thin outline of the entire cupcake. Looks pretty flat…

After the initial outline, I go back to thicken some parts to add dimension.

Now go back to thicken some parts and add small accent lines to create dimension.

Finished! : )

Finished! : )

Painting is something that anyone can do. When I’m stressed, I’ll take a break and paint for an hour. It soothes my nerves and helps me relax. I don’t consider myself a “painter” per say, but I like what I create and I enjoy creating it. I think that’s the most important part of creativity; doing it for yourself. If you enjoy it, who cares what other people think. Just go for it!

Caroline

Leave a Reply

